Customer Testimonials

Great food!
Vicki Allen
Google Review
10-24-19
Great place!!! Love the gondolas!! Yummo!!
Lisa Westerman
Google Review
10-23-19
Bread and ranch are amazing!
Lauren Cortes
Google Review
10-21-19
Always good food and friendly service.
Michelle Hardwick
Google Review
10-20-19
Love the gondola's here, also the lasagna was pretty good.
Sylvia Williams
Google Review
10-18-19
Best sandwiches anywhere! And huge!
Victor Rodriguez
Google Review
10-17-19
Yummy and affordable
Katie West
Google Review
10-17-19
Always good!
Brenda Kerns
Google Review
10-16-19
They have really good gondolas.
Sharon Shoemaker
Google Review
10-14-19
Great atmosphere and employees. Always friendly whether you dine in or carry out!
Elizabeth Nielsen
Google Review
10-12-19
Always a family favorite. French onion soup, gondolas, pasta... Good food at a reasonable price.
Randy and Stacy Ash
Google Review
10-11-19
Just as good as it was an 25 years ago when I went to ISU!!! Very good food!!!
Lois Hultgren
Google Review
10-10-19
Have tried a Gondola? Go, get some meat sauce for dipping, and enjoy! I have been making stops in Normal since I graduated just for Avanti's!
Michael Doyle
Google Review
10-7-19
Good inexpensive Italian dishes $$
Ernest Grendell
Google Review
10-6-19
We make frequent trips from Texas to Illinois, and we always make it a point to stop here for a Gondola. Excellent food!
Amanda Martinson
Google Review
10-6-19
Is there really any better bread?
Josh H
Google Review
10-5-19
Excellent food and service
Jeff Majernik
Google Review
10-5-19
Love the chili!
Jim Anderson
Google Review
10-2-19
Good food good price and service was great .
Jerry Leininger
Google Review
10-2-19
Love eating here. They always have the freshest bread and other ingredients
Cheryl Acup
Google Review
9-30-19
Avanti's is certainly unique, sure there are finer Italian diners, but they have a wide and diverse menu. Their Ranch dressing is great for salads, but also great for dipping for appetizers and their bread! Must try the primo pizza burger as well. Rest of the Italian dishes are great at well, and they run daily specials, including all you can eat.
Stephen Crowley
Google Review
9-29-19
Always great food at very reasonable prices.
Tom O'Connor
Google Review
9-29-19
Good people and good food. Reasonable prices.Great bread.
Tim Takesue
Google Review
9-23-19
Great Food!
Aimee Twardowski
Google Review
9-22-19
An absolute staple of the Blono experience! If you're in town for a college visit or are thinking about working for State farm, you need to check out Avantis. The food and service here are both marvelous, and the atmosphere is very family friendly and welcoming. I've been doing here my whole life, and I 100% recommend it!
Jason Boomgarden
Google Review
9-22-19
Great service, clean and good was good.
Danni Hopkins
Google Review
9-21-19
A favorite for years. 2 locations, both are great. Again, try it.
Dean Shepherd
Google Review
9-16-19
It was good. Staff was very nice. Primo pizza burger was very good
Mark Babb
Google Review
9-13-19
Avanti's is a very reasonably priced, family dining restaurant with many menu options. If you want good food and good service in a casual setting, Avanti's is a best choice.
Tom Coward
Google Review
9-7-19
The Gondolas are amazing!
Lisa Foley
Google Review
9-1-19
Fast, friendly and reasonably priced. Bread and Gondolas are excellent!
Julie Barnes
Google Review
8-28-19
Good food and excellent service.
Harry Bellock
Google Review
8-26-19
Great food, service, atmosphere and prices!
Bernadine Mccoy
Google Review
8-25-19
Sits in the heart of Illinois State University campus. Always good food at a low price and room for large groups. Food is served fast and hot, restrooms are clean. Large parking lot.
Timothy Gray
Google Review
8-18-19
Amazing food as always!
Cody Dorazio
Google Review
8-11-19
Server was super nice and food was great!
John King
Google Review
8-4-19
The bread is amazing!
Jessica Morrison
Google Review
8-4-19
The food is excellent for a college town restraurant. Their bread is amazing. I went to school there many years ago, and I still stop at Avanti's and pick up a few loaves of bread to bring home to Chicago when I pass through the area. And I know I'm not the only one.
Dallas Colburn
Google Review
8-2-19
One of my very favorite places to carry out. They have the best hot ham and cheese sandwich, and it does not hurt it's really huge! 16" long subs and awesome pizza bread. Avanti's seems to have everything I love about Italian food.
Craig Williams
Google Review
8-1-19
Just wanted to say thank you for making yesterday’s event so easy – everything was perfect! This process was a breeze for us and we appreciate all the work you guys did on your end to make it great for us! Thank you again for all of your help!!
Abby Davis
Email Response
7-31-19
Gondolas are fantastic
Debbie McGann
Google Review
7-28-19
Nice little spot, tasty pizza and solid service.
Nathan Williams
Google Review
7-28-19
The gondola sandwich has been consistently awesome for decades. I always grab some when I visit central Illinois. If you get the chance, check them out.
Steven Baz
Google Review
7-23-19
So amazing!!!
Amy Pattee
Google Review
7-15-19
My first time eating here and it was very good!
Lynne Million
Google Review
7-14-19
The perfect small town diner. Amazing bread for free, great soup and large portions for cheap prices. Had a great experience with wait staff as well.
Michael Flavin
Google Review
7-12-19
Very good Italian for a fair price...bread is awesome..loved the pizza...great salads.
Carole Brisebois
Google Review
7-12-19
Service was very attentive, polite and efficient. The environment was very homely and comfortable. Food was delicious and the free bread is always a delight.
Vi Chau
Google Review
7-11-19
Hometown favorite. If you don't expect insane high quality cuisine, you will be impressed with how good their food is. Try their bread and meat sauce!
Easy Acoustic
Google Review
7-10-19
The Tuesday spaghetti deal is unbeatable.
Donna Brunner
Google Review
7-9-19
Avanti's is the kind of place that only gets better with time. As trends come and go and Bloomington-Normal evolves, this restaurant is a welcome constant. The Gondola was a staple of my mom's diet during her time at ISU. Now, 4 decades later, my kids can't get enough of that bread.
Aaron H
Google Review
7-6-19
Loave picking up a sub! I think they are delicious! The bread is awesome! Always fresh and so soft! Convenient when out and about!
DeAnna Wilson
Google Review
7-5-19
Excellent Italian food very reasonably priced - and served by an exceptional waiter, Sean.
Anthony Greene
Google Review
7-5-19
Great place for groups or family!!!
Sherrie Carter
Google Review
7-3-19
Great food and service, come hungry!
Gary Walsh
Google Review
6-30-19
Delicious Italian food. Bread is the best ever.
Anita Everett
Google Review
6-27-19
Great food! Awesome waiter!
Robin Geiger
Google Review
6-25-19
Had a large party for a birthday celebration and they were happy to accommodate
Eric McMurray
Google Review
6-23-19
Food is authentic and delicious.
Frank Unger
Google Review
6-21-19
Classic hometown Italian food never lets me down.
Kayode Abitogun
Google Review
6-20-19
One of the Bloomington / Normal classics for down to earth Italian pizza, pasta and sandwiches. Try the fried ravioli!
Brian Hastings
Google Review
6-16-19
Haven't eaten there in almost 10 years, still the same great items and service. Went in around 1pm today. GLUTEN FREE best bread there is if you're GF.
Mr. Ryburn
Google Review
6-13-19
This place is amazing. I got a gondola sandwich with the gluten free bread. I have celiac disease, and the gf bread at restaurants is usually really crumbly, dry and small. The gf bread at Avanti's is incredible. It looks and tastes so normal I was almost afraid to eat it! This is the first time I've had a really normal sandwich in years. I'm just in town visiting, but if I lived here this would be the only place I'd get my gf bread.
Kristen D
Google Review
6-13-19
Just wanted to let you know that the event today was a success! Delivery was perfect, and the food was very good! Thank you so much!
Nancy Blaine
Afni
Catering on 6-11-19
Love the gondola sandwiches.
Brenda Kerns
Google Review
6-10-19
Great food with friendly service.
Sherrill Loebig
Google Review
6-9-19
LOVE THIS PLACE! Their bread is to die for! Ranch dressing is amazing and pasta is really good - comforting. Every time I'm in Normal I have to stop!
Dawn Finnegan
Google Review
6-8-19
Awesome food & Service!!
Barb Pummill
Google Review
6-4-19
Very good, best bread ever, service was very good. Highly recommended.
Shannon Kuykendall
Google Review
5-31-19
Really great food and it's unbelievably quick. Run in run out.
Frank Wesselhoff
Google Review
5-31-19
I love Avanti's! Anytime I'm in Bloomington I have to stop there!
Mollie Bateman
Google Review
5-28-19
A classic. In my opinion, the best meat sauce on the planet. Generous servings.
John Parks
Google Review
5-26-19
We used half of their banquet room for a bridal shower. We only had to spend $100 and the room was free. We had access to the room 30 minutes before the shower. It was very easy to book. management was very helpful with menu selection. They provided us with staff to attend to our needs and the food was great. I would definitely host events there again you also have the option to have the full room which I'm assuming you would have to spend $200 which would not be that difficult if you were having a large amount of people I would definitely recommend them for an event. Did I mention the food was great!!!
Teresa Long
Google Review
5-20-19
Delicious food and wonderful service. I got the create your own pasta with Mostaccoli and alfredo...
Christyna De Lude
Google Review
5-19-19
My half gondola and pizza bread were delicious!
Stephen Druessel
Google Review
5-15-19
Portions are ridiculously big. Great value for good food. We like to stop in here when we are in town. Chicken Parm, fried ravioli and turkey and swiss gondola are our favs. They have great carry out service too.
Cody Mast
Google Review
5-11-19
Good food. Good price
Missy Crowder
Google Review
5-11-19
Food was fantastic, service was good...
Donnie Kirk
Google Review
5-9-19
Always amazing. Stop reading. Just go there.
Jon Cagle
Google Review
5-8-19
Good food at a good price. I have eaten here for years and never had a bad experience.
Louie Nichols
Google Review
5-3-19
Good food excellent service.
David Klassen
Google Review
5-3-19
Always good, fun staff, comfort and nostalgia in a sandwich!
Tricia Kelly
Google Review
4-29-19
Good place to eat.
Jimmy Hill
Google Review
4-26-19
Excellent.
Paul Brooks
Google Review
4-26-19
Always Great!
Geoffrey Rogal
Google Review
4-26-19
Awesome, locally owned place. The bread is always fresh, the gondolas are great anda their ranch is the best.
Tanner Thoman
Google Review
4-24-19
Delicious food, wonderful place to eat. Great homemade bread.
Cheryl Acup
Google Review
4-23-19
My boys absolutely love the cheesy garlic bread!
Rodyna L Zabbit
Google Review
4-20-19
Great service
Ralph Hammer
Google Review
4-20-19
Best pizza Restaurant in Normal
Ningning Si
Google Review
4-19-19
The take out was fast and convenient.
John Nolan
Google Review
4-14-19
Gondola Deluxe is the best!
Tom Greenwood
Google Review
4-14-19
I am a big fan of their Italian beef sandwich with meat sauce, but today i had lasagna, which was the special. I enjoyed it, so I would get it again.
Elston Flowers
Google Review
4-12-19
Good Food and great service
Christi Lemley
Google Review
4-10-19
Exceptional food at an affordable price!
Rob Jones
Google Review
4-7-19
Food was wonderful as always!
Niki Friedman
Google Review
3-28-19
Best sandwich store as anywhere...
Jeff Link
Google Review
3-25-19
Delicious food for carry out that is fast and efficient too.
Glen Peterson
Google Review
3-21-19
Always amazing food and fantastic service. My picky nephew loves it. And the bread is phenomenal that is brought with your drinks.
Tim Benningfield
Google Review
3-21-19
Love it
David Smith
Google Review
3-19-19
This restaurant is well known all over Illinois for their signature sandwich called the gondola. You haven't lived until you've had one.
Jerry Wills
Google Review
3-16-19
Excellent food at reasonable prices with outstanding service.
Rick Wills
Google Review
3-14-19
Quick, fast and good tasting food.
Travis Bornsheuer
Google Review
3-12-19
Always great food.
Adrienne Hemming
Google Review
3-7-19
Amazing soup.
Karen Esparza
Google Review
2-26-19
Very good food and ambience. We celebrated our marriage anniv there. Date with my beloved wife...
Anant Bilolikar
Google Review
2-25-19
Really impressed with how quick they got the food up and how nice the whole staff was. Really enjoyed the atmosphere for being a carry out store. And the food, of course.
Randy Turley
Google Review
2-19-19
Great food and pie!
Frank Stanko
Google Review
2-19-19
I brought my 2 daughters who live in bloomington now to dinner on super bowl sunday, when I was down to visit them. Your food is excellent and authentic. I also had my daughter's ISU graduation party at your Bloomington restaurant's banquet room last May. Excellent value!
Mark S. Bruckner
2-14-19
Good pasta, eat there a lot.
Shannon Kuykendall
Google Review
2-13-19
The online order process was easy and quick. My order was ready when I arrived to pick up my order. Pick up area was clean and the check out process was quick.
Mystery Shopper
2-8-19
First time visiting this restaurant. Good food. Good service. Clean. Reasonable prices.
Gloria Lynch
Google Review
2-7-19
Loved the food
Aly Lee
Google Review
2-6-19
Brilliant and reminiscent of eating happiness since I attended Illinois State University as an undergrad! Go Redbirds!!!
Terrence June bug
Google Review
2-3-19
Good Food.
Mark Marshall
Google Review
2-2-19
Awesome food and great place.
Troy Chasten
Google Review
2-2-19
We stopped at a steak restaurant that recently relocated and when we found out we would have to wait for 55 minutes, we just drove to the airport area and walked into Avanti's. Seated and served right away. Plus various tables were filled with groups of cheerleaders. They were finishing up as another large group were ushered into the banquet room. This place is very busy but everyone seemed to be as happy as we were. Great staff. Very good food, a good value for your money.
Joyce Rodriguez
Google Review
2-1-19
Thank you for another fantastic catering service! Everything was perfect.
-Ladule
Avanti's by the airport was fantastic at accommodating us for the third straight year.
-Holiday Classic Survey Entry
Our group truly enjoys having our annual meeting at Avanti's because the food and service are just... well, there is no comparison.
-Melissa
My family was there Sunday Dec 16th in the evening. Erica was our server and I wanted to let you know how amazing she was. She stayed on top of our group’s needs but at the same time stayed behind the scenes. Additionally she was able to keep all the orders together despite the group being spread out. I really appreciated the job she did. My daughter has been a waitress and she even mentioned how impressed she was that our server handled the room by herself.
-Rebecca
I just wanted to thank you for helping with this order. Whoever prepped it did an AWESOME job and we so appreciated having each person's order labeled with a name to make passing out that much quicker.
Our teachers are so rushed at lunchtime that it was nice for them to have a chance to enjoy a few extra minutes with their lunch. The extra effort was certainly appreciated!
Thank you,
Danielle
Wanted to let you know our reservation of the banquet room at the E. Empire location worked very well for our group of 17 friends enjoying our evening meal.
Kudos to our server, Morgan. She did a fabulous job.
I will recommend we use the room again in the future. We meet once a month.
THANKS!!!!!
Linda Thomas
I just wanted to let you know that the baby shower was wonderful. Our server was Morgan and she was terrific! She kept everyone's drinks full, and made sure we had everything that we needed.
I will definitely recommend your banquet room to friends and family.
Thank you for your help.
Laura
Good afternoon, We ordered our staff luncheon from your store for noon today. Everyone was pleased with their choices (Italian Beef and Chicken Tenders) and the Caesar salad w/chicken was well received; the dressing was delicious!!
Thank you for proving us with a wonderful meal, and always excellent service. Mike is great.
Happy Holidays,
-pat